Posted in The Write Way, Uncategorized

Are You a Successful Writer?

I’d like to discuss two things that plague a lot of new writers. The first20160417_161033 is, when can you call yourself a writer? Should you have a successful blog? Should you be published first? Should you have some type of certification or degree? The answer to all of these, is no. The only thing you need to call yourself a writer, is a pen and paper. If you love to write, and you actively create with your words, you my friend, are a writer. There are millions of writers who are not Stephen King or Clive Barker. That kind of fame and notoriety are not typical. If that is your idea of success, you have a long disappointing career ahead of you.Which leads me to my second question. What does success look like to you? How do you feel right now as a writer? How do you want to feel? Let’s face it, there will always be room for more money and more accolades about something we have written. But, you cannot let money and other people define your idea of success. If you feel good about what you do and are lucky enough that you have the luxury of writing whenever you want, you are not just a successful writer, you are an incredible eminence of writing accomplishment! So keep writing, keep enjoying what you do. Keep telling yourself that you are a successful writer. Go ahead, say it out loud! Tack up some positive affirmations that remind you that you are a brilliant success! If getting paid to write is your dream, there are many ways to get started. Tomorrow we can talk about some steps you can take. Today, you are a success.

Author:

I am a recovering addict. I have been clean from drugs since March of 2013. I have been in and out of prison most of my adult life. I walked out of the state penitentiary for the last time March 6, 2015. In the time since then I have turned my life into a success driven, empowering happiness that I would have never imagined for myself. I am proud of who I am. I have learned incredible life lessons and have lived an extraordinary adventure filled existence. The agony and self destruction of living in active addiction is part of my past. I want people to know that real change is possible if you are willing to work for it. I am a student earning a Bachelor of Arts in English. I am following my passion of the written word. I aspire to become an amazing author. I certainly have no shortage of stories to share! Happy writing!

2 thoughts on “Are You a Successful Writer?

  1. This is such a great post! I feel like as long as you are happy and enjoy what you are doing then you are successful 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

